top of page
Search

I AM WILLING

Since I went to the hospital about a week ago, of course I came home with some medicine. The medicine is clearing up my eczema which is great but it is making my discoloration of skin apparent. The discoloration of the skin is called hyperpigmentation and hypopigmentation. Hyperpigmentation is when the skin is darker than your skin tone and hypopigmentation is when the skin is lighter than your skin tone. Skin pigmentation is based off of the production of a substance called melalin. Melalin is what gives color to your skin, eyes, and hair. If your skin doesn't produce enough melalin, it can lighten your skin. Genetic or severe environment conditions can effect the melalin production. Topical creams are used to lighten skin that produce too much melalin but topical creams are also used to help calm down eczema. While the topical creams work very well on treating eczema, they are multi-purposeful and can also lighten the skin.


There are ways to increase your melalin production like eating things with vitamin A. You get vitamin A from things such as veggies, especially ones that contain beta carotene. Beta carotene is what gives plants their vibrant colors such as red, orange, and yellow. Since vitamin A is an antioxidant, some researchers believe vitamin A is more effective than other vitamins to producing melalin.


For me and topical creams, it is a love-dislike relationship. They help me get almost clear but also leave a little something behind. It also isn't good for the human body to constantly be on steroids or topical creams so they aren't a long term fix. When my family and I watched online church yesterday, the pastor read a passage out of Mark that really spoke to me. In Mark 1:40-42 it says,"Now a leper came to Him, imploring Him, kneeling down to Him and saying to Him, "'If You are willing, You can make me clean."' Then Jesus, moved with compassion, stretched out His hand and touched him, and said to him, "'I am willing; be cleansed."' As soon as He had spoken, immediately the leprosy left him, and he was cleansed." In the Old Testament, it says that if someone has leprosy or a skin condition, to not go near them and stay as far away as possible. But Jesus goes to him and touches him. This verse is saying that nothing you can do will ever make him stay away, even a skin condition. I know I don't have leprosy but I can relate to this because I do have a skin condition. I really felt like this message was for me and made a big impact on me. Praise God.


JATS








43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2022!

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page