top of page
Search

IN LOVING MEMORY

This Tuesday, I had to say goodbye to my great grandpa. James "Jim" Ralph Farrell lived a great 89 years before he got to go meet Jesus. He was born on April 16th and passed away on July 6th. My great grandpa was a very selfless man who loved the Lord. He enjoyed fishing, gardening, woodworking, family time, and helping others. He served in the military as a Marine MP, stationed in California. When he came back to Springfield, he got married to my great grandma, Jacqueline (Jackie) and had one son, Rick, my grandpa. My great grandpa always loved to work with this hands. He worked at the Railroad as a welder, supervisory, and a material inspector. He also served his community as a volunteer firefighter for Ebenezer Fire Department. My great grandparents lived on a farm for most of their marriage together. My great grandpa loved the farm and raising good quality beef. I have learned so much from my great grandpa that will stay with me forever even though he is gone from this earth. One of the most important things I have learned from him is that showing Jesus' love doesn't always mean reading your bible with somebody else, which is still important but showing kindness to everyone you meet. My great grandpa never meet a stranger because he would welcome them with open arms like family.


My great grandpa loved every verse in the bible but the pastors at the funeral ceremony shared this one and I wanted to share it. "The Lord is my shepherd; I have all that I need. He lets me rest in green meadows; he leads me beside peaceful streams. He knows my strength. He guides me along right paths, bringing honor to his name. Even when I walk through the darkest valley I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me. Your rod and staff protect and comfort me. You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies. You honor me by anointing my head with oil. My cup overflows with blessings. Surely your goodness and unfailing love with pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever." Psalms 23.


I took some photos at the Military Cemetery that I think are so beautiful. You can sort of see my great grandpa's grave in the bottom right corner where the fresh dirt is.


My great grandpa was an amazing and strong man. He loved everyone and loved God. He would do anything for anyone. He was such a good example of Jesus' love through him, as is this photo. He may be gone on this earth but he is in a much better place. <3


JATS

35 views

Recent Posts

See All

2022!

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page